Prayer for the Fallen

5 11 2009

Today I had to attend a practice for a Veterans Day parade. I don’t know how many of you have ever been to an event that had a military parade or a pass and review to know how long they are, but suffice it to say they can be quite lengthy. I have been in the Air Force about 7 months now and this next parade will be my fourth. I will be honest and say that I did not have the best attitude towards being in this parade. I was quietly grumbling to myself that I have done enough marching to not have to practice for the parade and that there had to be others who luckily were exempt from the event. “Why did I have to have such bad luck,” I thought to myself as I wallowed in self pity and silently resumed my lackadaisical mood. Well, much to my surprise the practice was cut short and we marched back to the squadron, where we were briefed on the shooting incident that happened at Fort Hood. I felt like such a dirt bag. Here I was feeling sorry for myself for having to do something as simple as participate in a parade, for VETERANS DAY for crying out loud! While just hours away, American men and women were being put in danger at their homes and some losing their lives. Suddenly being in a parade didn’t seem like such a chore anymore, maybe I could march a little better than I had been and with a bit more pride. things were put back into perspective as my childish thoughts dwindled. So if you could say a prayer for those who have fallen in the line of duty, as they protected their families and their friends. Also for those family and friends who were caught up in this, and who have been affected by this tragic ordeal.

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 11 2009
Mom

Proud of you!
Love,
Mom

11 11 2009
Amanda

that day i had about ten people text/call me to ask which base you were at that day, i had no clue till later that night when i saw it on the news. Glad you’re ok and i feel for those who aren’t as fortunate.

Leave a Reply

