Tech School Part 2: Witchita Falls Edition

19 10 2009

I am now waiting to begin my second and final stage of technical training. After I complete this step I will be given orders to report to my first assignment. I am excited knowing that I am closer to achieving that goal, but also somewhat disheartened as I learned when I arrived here, that the avionics program is backed up and not only will I wait to begin classes, but my particular AFSC has a bit of a longer stay here than others. So by the time I leave here, I will have been in the U.S. Air Force for a bit over 1 year. As of right now, I will go ahead and say that I would have preferred to have my longer stay be at Biloxi rather than here, and that is as far as I’ll go into that. I will say one thing that has been especially tough, well maybe not tough, but more challenging than I originally thought it would be, is the whole Op Sec(Operational Security) and impartiality when it comes to politics deal. I’m sure some of you are aware that when you are in the Military you can’t go around voicing your opinion on matters such as politics, and other touchy issues because it might give others a bad impression of the Military and such. There are many different reasons but it would take too long to go into it. And I am sure that most of you know that I tend to have rather decided views when it comes to political issues. So I have had to check myself on a number of occasions and just keep my mouth shut. It isn’t easy folks, but I am getting used to it. The same, to a much lesser extent mind you, goes for Op Sec. There are things that I would like to talk about and go into detail about, but cant. Maybe not because they are classified, but because the wrong people knowing too many details is very bad. So When posting updates like these I have to go back through and edit a bit more than I was used to. Or when talking on a cell phone in a public place, I have to watch what I say and how much detail I go into. Just things like that, that weren’t a part of my everyday routine in the past, but are now becoming the norm. It just took a little getting used to.

Actions

Information

One response

21 10 2009
Amanda

hahahaha, they’re watching you!!! Have fun with the censorship 🙂 I still have my rights and amendments tehehe

Leave a Reply

